Bad news: World of Hyatt announces category changes, 214 hotels to soon require more points

admin 4 Min Read

A brutal devaluation from World of Hyatt today.

Big changes are coming to point redemptions at hundreds of World of Hyatt properties. Some 214 Hyatt hotels and resorts are getting higher categories, and that means it will cost you more World of Hyatt points to book them.

The moves are mostly negative for those who like to redeem World of Hyatt points and free night certificates. Higher-end and popular hotels and resorts were especially hard hit.

The list of hotels getting more expensive includes some of our favorites. The Grand Hyatt Vail goes from category 6 to category 7. Nine Hyatt properties go to category 8 which makes them the most expensive Hyatt redemption category. They include Park Hyatt Zurich, Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort, and Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa.

The Grand Hyatt in Kauai goes from category 6 to category 7, and the Hyatt Regency Maui goes from category 6 to category 7. Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort Spa and Casino also goes from 6 to 7.

Chicago Athletic Association was formerly a category 4 but will soon be a category 5. This means you will no longer be able to use your free night certificates from holding the World of Hyatt Credit Cards.

The Eliza Jane in New Orleans, part of The Unbound Collection By Hyatt also jumps from category 4 to category 5 which ends a sweet spot for that popular hotel.

The Thompson Madrid and the Hyatt Place in Moab also go from category 4 to cat 5.

Hyatt’s category 1–4 award certificates are valid at any Category 1, 2, 3 or 4 property in the World of Hyatt program. That makes those free night awards usable at the lower range Hyatt Place, or even a Grand Hyatt, a Park Hyatt, or at a Small Luxury Hotels of the World property if it’s a category 4 or lower. These changes mean some hotels are now out of reach for the certificates.

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Related: Why the World of Hyatt Credit Card is great for families

There is some good news, however, with 158 hotels moving to a lower award category.

Thompson Denver and Thompson Washington, D.C. are two actually going down a category. The Thompson D.C. will move down to category 4, which means you can soon use a certificate to book this property.

There have also been substantial changes to Hyatt’s all-inclusive award chart making several popular resorts more expensive including the TPG-reviewed Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall the Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall, and the Zoëtry Agua Punta Cana.

Hyatt Zilara Monetgo Bay, Jamaica. CLINT HENDERSON/THE POINTS GUY

If you plan to use your Hyatt points at any hotels moving to a higher category, you should make reservations now. These changes go into effect on March 28.

Related reading:

Source link

Share this Article
Leave a comment